MY LOVE AFFAIR WITH GORE

I used to be scared shitless by films delving on the infliction of pain, mutilation and all that hoopla >.< but as the years went on, plus the onset of “if you may call it maturity” I learned to appreciate the “art” and story behind these films. Before all I could think about was the pain, but now I am suddenly interested on the psychology behind the fear and pain, well aside the obvious pain that stems out of the torture and mutilation, and the fear of death, the unknown.

the psychology of fear

So in the name of *research* I  took it to myself to watch a few movies, and before I knew it, I was falling in love with the genre it came to a part that the more surreal and weird a film is, I liked it more, my roommate at that time who was not a big fan of the genre frequently tells me to wear earphones whenever I decide to watch a film, because, even though she doesn’t see it, she hears it and it makes her cringe.

See the problem with me is, I like to watch these movies at the most ungodly hours, 2 am for example, sometimes I would be so scared after watching, I’d stay up until the wee hours of the morning and when the sun is up, that would be the time I would sleep. >.<

A lot of people are actually surprised to learn that I love films that has something to do with the macabre. Whenever I would tell them that I adore the genre, they would always have a shocked look on their face and ask me “REALLY”?  Now I don’t want people getting the wrong idea that I glorify violence, I am absolutely against it, It just happens that I love the twisted ability of man to actually come up with these films. It makes you wonder about the thought process, does the film symbolize something? Does it present a lot of social issues subconsciously?  See that’s the part of those films that I love exploring, and think about, it also happens that I have  very high threshold for pain that I am able to watch these films and thoroughly process all I want to see in it, instead of just cringing and closing my eyes on the crucial (but bloody) parts.

a Film I've yet to see :)

A lot of other posts following this one would be informal reviews of gore films that I’ve seen so far. Don’t expect to see all new films, as I’m also on the lookout for obscure ones and those that did not receive mainstream exposure.

So please, If you’re reading this, I do hope you’re not of the faint of heart, I can get pretty graphic describing scenes *sorry about that*.

And to those who will be able to read this and actually know me in person, please don’t fear me, I just happen to be an ordinary girl who has an extraordinary love for gore. >_<

I ♥ you Eihi Shina

*no copyright infringement intended for the photos*

 

 

~ by thirteenlets on March 12, 2011.

Leave a comment